Tea Growing Region

Until the independence of the Bangladesh in 1971, tea was cultivated in only two districts in Bangladesh, one in Sylhet district which was known as 'Surma Valley' and the other in Chittagong district which was known as 'Halda Valley'.

At present the ‘Surma Valley’ of Greater Sylhet is divided into six valleys namely: Laskarpur Valley, Balisera Valley, Manu-Dalai Valley, Longla Valley and North Sylhet Valley.

‘Halda Valley’ has been made into ‘Chittagong Valley’.

Since 2002, the Tea cultivation was also introduced in other parts of Bangladesh namely Panchagarh, Lalmonirhat, Thakurgaon, Nilphamari, Dinajpur and Bandarban in the Chittagong Hill Tracts.